

Borough of Manhattan Community College The City University of New York Academic Senate

Minutes Organizational Meeting May 12th, 2021 Zoom

- I. CALL TO ORDER: 3:29 pm
- II. ATTENDANCE: A quorum was achieved. The following senators were absent: Arthur Cain, Miguel Castro Fiolhais, Kathleen Dreyer, Joanna Giza, Hollis Glaser, Benjamin Haas, Samvel Jeshmaridian, Shamira Malekar, Lourdes Serrano

III. ELECTIONS

- a. Chair of the Academic Senate
 - Ken Levinson
- b. Election Committee
 - Christine Priano
 - Cynthia Wiseman
 - Orlando Justo
 - Manita Pavel
 - Maureen Keenan
- c. Vice Chair of the Academic Senate
 - Lesley Rennis
- d. Secretary of the Academic Senate
 - Sarah Salm
- e. Parliamentarian
 - Sangeeta Bishop
- f. Committee on Committees (5 members)
 - Rifat Salam
 - Eugenia Yau
 - Lesley Rennis

- Lalitha Jayant
- Eugene Milman
- g. Study Abroad Committee: Motion to extend the term of the 2020-2021 committee for one additional year was approved.
 - Elected 2019: Lisa Sarti, Valerie Thiers-Thiam, Terry Voorhees
 - Elected 2020: Monica Foust, Eda Henao
- h. Panel for the Board of the BMCC Association (7 of 8 seats filled)
 - Joel Barker
 - Anthony Bishop
 - Cynthia Wiseman
 - Melanie Oram
 - Julo Conte
 - Catherine Mbewe
 - Ruth Guirguis
- i. Panel for the Board of Auxiliary Enterprises (6 members)
 - Elizabeth Robb
 - Cheryl Comeau-Kirschner
 - Thierry Agbotouedo
 - James Blake
 - Anthony Bishop
 - Domenick Acocella
- j. Personnel Review Committee (3 members)
 - Jean Amaral
 - Valerie Thiers-Thiam
 - Carlo Diego
- IV. Note The following six members of the Personnel Review Committee were elected in the April 2021 college-wide elections:
 - Patrick Flink Academic Literacy and Linguistics
 - Lisa Grace Health Education
 - Daly Guilamo-Anderson Ethnic and Race Studies
 - Anthony Naaeke Speech, Communications and Theatre Arts
 - Brian Rafferty Science
 - Brenda Vollman Social Sciences, Human Services & Criminal Justice
- V. ADJOURNMENT : 4:14pm